Event Overview

Australian PGA Championship

The 59th Edition of the World Cup of Golf will mark the sixth time in the tournament's history that it will be played in Australia, and the first time at The Metropolitan Golf Club, playing host to 28 nations from November 21 - 25, 2018.

Previous World Cup of Golf events in Australia:

Year Winning Country/Players 
1959 Australia (Peter Thomson/Kel Nagle) Royal Melbourne
1972 Chinese Taipei (Hsieh Min-Nan/Lu Liang-Huan) Royal Melbourne
1988 United States (Ben Crenshaw/Mark McCumber) Royal Melbourne
2013 Australia (Jason Day/Adam Scott) Royal Melbourne

2016 Denmark (Soren Kjeldsen & Thorbjorn Olesen) Kingston Health

The 2018 tournament will again be a 72-hole, stroke play, two-man team event format. The first and third days of competition will be fourball (best ball) play and the second and final days are foursomes (alternate shot) format.

The highest-ranked players from each competing nation will once again choose their playing partner.

In 2016, The Denmark Team, represented by Søren Kjeldsen and Thorbjørn Olesen, claimed a thrilling four-stroke victory ahead of China, France and the United States of America at Kingston Heath GC. Home favourites Adam Scott and Jason Day were victorious at Royal Melbourne Golf Club in 2013.

The Metropolitan Golf Club has played host to the WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play, Men's Australian Open and Australian PGA championships, located in the heart of the prestigious Melbourne Sandbelt.




Please enable your JavaScript to view the Youtube Videos.
View PGA Youtube Channel