The Star Gold Coast has played host to 460 guests to recognise the outstanding achievements of individuals, golf clubs and companies over the past 12 months at the QLD Golf Industry Awards night.

The evening eclipsed the previous record of 453 attendees from two years ago with the night recognising the achievements of those from the PGA (QLD/NT), Golf Management Australia – Queensland Division (GMAQ), Golf Queensland as well as the Golf Course Superintendents Association of Queensland (GCSAQ).

Of the PGA Awards presented, Sanctuary Cove General Manager, Paul Sanders won the Queensland PGA Management Professional of the Year, managing in excess of 100 staff, two golf courses and annual turnover of $12 Million, 2017 has seen significant efficiencies and innovation including the development at the club.

Emerald Golf Club Head Professional Matthew Victorsen took out the Queensland PGA Game Development Professional of the Year for coaching almost 100 MyGolf juniors in the small country town, not to mention several junior camps and school programs and so much more in Emerald.

Adam Norlander from Headland Golf Club was presented with the coveted Queensland PGA Club Professional of the Year Award, having only been the Head Professional at Headland Golf Club since the start of 2015, Adam has built an inclusive, friendly, welcoming and professional environment for the members and guests of the club.

Following a stellar year for his students, Grant Field claimed the Queensland PGA Coach of the Year Award.

Field spoke about the great year he has enjoyed with his star pupils including Cameron Smith who won the Australian PGA Championship last December, outlining the importance of surrounding himself with other quality coaches throughout the year.

“It has been another successful year for a number of the golfers that I teach, but none of this would be achievable without the great team that surrounds me,” said Field.

“As a coach, I work alongside fellow PGA coaches Richard Woodhouse, Matthew Ballard, Tony Meyer and Virginia Irwin. We all want to succeed in what we do and it’s great to have these people to push you to maximise your ability as a coach.”

The four winners will now go on to represent Queensland as a finalist for the Australian PGA Coach of the Year, PGA Management Professional of the Year, PGA Game Development Professional of the Year and PGA Club Professional of the Year Awards of which will be awarded at the Greg Norman Medal Dinner later in the year.

City Golf Club was recongised for a stellar 2017 with the GMAQ Golf Club of the Year Award.

The City Golf Club, who has played host to the Coca-Cola QLD PGA Championship for the last decade, held off a number of other high profile clubs from throughout the state to win the award for third time.

“2017 has been another great year for us at the City Golf Club,” said City Golf Club President Ed Britnell.

“Award’s like this don’t come easily and I would like to thank my fellow board members as well as the management and staff, for all the tireless work and effort they put in to make our club so great.”

Other recipients of the GMAQ Awards included; Links Hope Island’s Ashlee Kachel who took out the Staff Member of the Year Award, McLeod Country Clubs Carolyn McIlvenny who won the Board Member of the Year Award while Parkwood Village’s Luke Altschwager claimed the title of GMAQ Manager of the Year.

The GCSAQ recognised the talents of many of their dedicated superintendents across Queensland with Col Thorsborne from Parkwood Village taking out the Superintendent’s Achievement Award. Col was recognised for his work completing the irrigation system of all 18 holes at Parkwood as well as the successful redesign of four holes.

“It is a real privilege to receive this award, especially with so many great course superintendents applying their trade on courses around Queensland,” said Thorsborne.

“It is great to be back at a facility where my passion is at its greatest and I am looking forward to what the future holds for me at Parkwood Village.”

After another big year for the state’s elite amateurs, Rebecca Kay capped off a great year in 2017 to claim the Female Amateur Golfer of the Year Award, while Isabelle Taylor won the Junior Female Amateur Golfer of the Year Award. Jediah Morgan was announced as the Junior Male Amateur Golfer of the Year for the second consecutive year, while Maroochy Rivers Shae Wools-Cobb was crowned the Male Amateur Golfer of the Year, after a superb 2017 including reaching the round of 16 at the US Amateur Championship.

The evening also celebrated the graduation of 15 PGA Trainees graduates to Full Vocational PGA Members. The graduates were recognised for their dedication in achieving their goal of becoming the next generation of PGA Professionals and 2017 QLD PGA Trainee Captain James Corkill captured the thoughts of all of those who received their graduation certificates on the evening.

“There has been many ups and downs for all of us throughout our PGA Traineeships but the most important thing for us now is to reflect on our achievements in becoming Full Vocational PGA Members, and work hard to achieve our long term goals within the golf industry,” said Corkill.

A full list of award winners can be found below:

QGI Services to Golf Award

Val Bazley

QGI Supplier of the Year Award

Golf Industry Central

QGI Junior Program of the Year Award

Cairns Golf Club

Golf Queensland Volunteer of the Year

Jamie Sullivan

Golf Queensland Junior Male Amateur of the Year

Jediah Morgan

Golf Queensland Junior Female Amateur of the Year

Isabelle Taylor

Golf Queensland Male Amateur of the Year presented by Club Super

Shae Wools-Cobb

Golf Queensland Female Amateur of the Year

Rebecca Kay

GMAQ Golf Club of the Year Award presented by Richard Chaimberlain Golf

City Golf Club

GMAQ Manager of the Year Award presented by MiClub

Luke Altschwager

GMAQ Board Member of the Year Award

Carolyn McIlvenny

GMAQ Staff Member of the Year Award

Ashlee Kachel

QLD PGA Club Professional of the Year presented by Coca Cola Amatil

Adam Norlander

QLD PGA Game Development Professional of the Year

Matthew Victorsen

QLD PGA Management Professional of the Year

Paul Sanders

QLD PGA Coach of the Year

Grant Field

QLD PGA Trainee of the Year

Ben Pisani

QLD PGA Trainee Order of Merit Winner

Ben Pisani

QLD PGA Tournament of the Year

Schweppes Southport Pro-Am

QLD PGA Metropolitan Tournament of the Year

Schweppes City of Brisbane Pro-Am – Victoria Park Golf Complex

QLD PGA Regional Tournament of the Year

Crowe Horwath Yamba Pro-Am

QLD PGA Legends Tournament of the Year

Sunshine Coast Masters

PGA Pro-Am Series Sunshine Swing Rookie of the Year presented by OnPlatinum

Blake Proverbs

PGA Pro-Am Series Sunshine Swing Order of Merit Winner

Damien Jordan

GCSAQ Apprentice of the Year presented by Toro

Steven Lewisl

GCSAQ Superintendents Assistant Recognition Award presented by Ogilvy, Clayton, Cocking & Mead and Greenway Turf Solutions

Garry McClymont

Superintendents Environment Award

Jason Lavender

Superintendents Industry Recognition Award

Peter Lonergan

Superintendents Achievement Award presented by Living Turf

Col Thorsborne

PGA IGI Excellence in Golf Education Award

Nicholas Bond