The PGA is governed by a Board of Directors, to which the CEO, Vocational Membership Council and Tournament Players Council all report.

PGA Members play a vital role in the governance of the PGA.

Representatives from each State Vocational Division form the Vocational Membership Council, while the Tournament Players Council, which also includes a representative of the PGA Legends Tour Committee, is formed by ballot. All Councils and Committees work alongside the PGA Board of Directors to guide the future of the Association.

PGA Structure

PGA of Australia Board
Board Members

Rodger Davis


Rodger turned professional in 1974 and spent his regular career playing mainly on the PGA Tour of Australasia and the European Tour. His seven European Tour wins included two of Europe's most prestigious tournaments; the British PGA Championship, which he won in 1986 at Wentworth Club, and the season ending Volvo Masters, which he claimed in 1991. In 1986 Rodger had a wonderful three week run winning the Australian Open, Air New Zealand Shell Open and the New Zealand Open in consecutive weeks.


David Stretton

Deputy Chairman

David became a member in 1991 and has served on the NSW/ACT Divisional Committee for 9 years, 6 of those as Chairman. David is the Head Professional at Morisset Country Club in Lake Macquarie, a position he has held for 11 years. David believes that if you give your golfers an experience that exceeds their expectations; they will support you in return. David proudly represents PGA Members, accepting the role as Director to ensure PGA Members have a voice and passionately represents the interests of all PGA Members.


Bruce Green

Member Director 

In 2017 Bruce begins his 51st year as a PGA Member with 38 of those spent as the Head Professional at the Royal Melbourne Golf Club, at which he has been bestowed life membership, in his playing days Bruce won two Victorian PGA titles. 1967 and again in 1973. Bruce has served as state coach for both the junior and senior Victorian amateur teams for five years. He is a member of the Victorian Golf Hall of Fame and is also a founding member of the Australian Golf Society.


Ian Baker Finch

Member Director

After winning 17 titles on all four major tours, Ian Baker-Finch retired from full-time competition in 1997, and for the last 20 years has dedicated his time and talent to television as a golf analyst. He was awarded an Australian Sports Medal in 2000 and was appointed Golf Team Leader for the men’s and women’s Australian Olympic golf teams for the 2016 Olympics in Rio.  A Life Member of the PGA of Australia, Ian is a passionate advocate for the continued growth of the game worldwide. He previously served on the Board of Directors for the PGA Tour of Australasia and was elected to the Board of Directors of the PGA of Australia in 2018.


Carole Brownlee

Independent Director

Carole Brownlee is an experienced financial executive who has worked with the Village Roadshow Group of Companies since 1991 and is currently the Chief Operating Officer for the Roadshow Films Group of Companies. She graduated from the Institute of Certified Practising Accountants and has senior Board experience within both commercial and Not For Profit enterprises. She is currently a Board Director for ActionAid Australia.


James Erskine

Independent Director

James is the Chairman of Sports and Entertainment Limited, one of Australia's leading sports and entertainment organisations. He was the former Managing Director of International Management Group Ltd. for Australia and South East Asia and is an expert on international sporting television rights. Over the last three decades James has been influential in the international sports and entertainment marketing landscapes, over the years managing such icons as Muhammad Ali and Greg Norman, and the today manages such names as Shane Warne, Sir Michael Parkinson, Zara Phillips, Ian Thorpe, Mick Doohan and Todd Woodbridge.


Richard Lazar

Independent Director

Richard has held the role of the Managing Director of Professional Public Relations one of Australasia's most respected communication consultancies for the past 30 years. Richard has developed the organisation into Australia's largest PR consultancy group with offices throughout Australia. New Zealand, Asia, Europe and North America since joint the firm 1979. He has been recognised as Fellow of the Public Relations  Institute of Australia, which together with the international marketing media and industry bodies have presented him with many global, national and state awards, including the "World's Most innovative PR Company" and 'Agency of the Year" in the last 3 years.


The Board can be contacted at

PGA of Australia CEO

Gavin Kirkman


Gavin has worked for the PGA for period of 12 years and was appointed the CEO in February 2017.  A man who is passionate about golf, Gavin has worked in the golf industry in a variety of roles for 32 years and he leads a passionate staff dedicated to growing the game and ensuring the welfare of Members of the PGA of Australia.  Gavin can be contacted at