Ben Eccles and Aaron Cox have won the 2016 Sands Classic at Torquay in the final event on the Bellarine Peninsula Series.

The pair fired 7-under 65 to secure a narrow one stroke victory over runner up Scott Laycock who carded an impressive 6-under 66.

Perfect conditions greeted players with the The Sands course presented beautifully and despite the increasing breeze conditions remained friendly for the afternoon field.

Rounding out the top-10 were Sean Crowe on 5-under, Timothy Wood on 3-under and Alexander Pitty, Luke Bessant, Ashley Hall, Simon Hawkes and Christopher Thorn on 2-under.

Related links

Leaderboard / 2016 Sands Classic