Nov 15, 2012 to Nov 18, 2012
Kingston Heath, Melbourne
Brad Newcombe
Tournament Administrator
(03) 8320 1996
Event Type:
PGA Tour
Defending Champion:
Ian Poulter (ENG)
Par rating:
Prize Money:
$1,000,000 (min)

Talisker Masters

Welcome to the 2012 Talisker Masters to be held at Kingston Heath Golf Club.

First held in 1979 at Huntingdale Golf Club in Melbourne, the Masters has consistently attracted the best players from across the globe and the strongest support in terms of spectator and television audiences. The annual presentation of the gold jacket to the champion has become a notable tradition in Australian golf.

Greg Norman became synonymous with the tournament in the earlier years amassing six gold jackets in an astonishing stretch from 1981 to 1990. The event has also given several Australian players the chance to launch themselves onto the international stage after breakthrough victories at Huntingdale. They include the likes of Ian Baker-Finch, Craig Parry, Richard Green, Peter Lonard and Aaron Baddeley. The prestigious past champions roll of honour reads as a who's who of the golfing world.

In 2008, IMG entered into a long term strategic partnership with the Victoria Government to build the annual Australian Masters into a "Best in Class" event that provides for a highpoint on the Australian golfing calendar.

The 2009 Masters saw the start of the venue rotation policy, with the tournament moving to Kingston Heath Golf Club, and set a new high watermark for Australian golf; attracting record crowds and television audiences. These milestone results and the tournament champion, Tiger Woods, have only served to raise the bar and assist the Masters enhance its reputation as one of the world's great golfing events and one of Asia-Pacific's most acclaimed sporting traditions.

2010 saw Stuart Appleby add another legendary name to the Australian Masters honour roll at The Victoria Golf Club. Appleby fired an equal tournament low, six-under 65 to finish at 10 under, ahead of fellow Australians Adam Bland and Daniel Gaunt.

2011 brought the worlds number one ranked player Luke Donald downunder, however, it was fellow Englishman Ian Poulter who took control of the field to finish on top of a fast finishing Marcus Fraser.

A Final Player List is now available under Related Documents. If your name does not appear on the list please contact

Past Winners

Year Winner Score Venue
2011 Ian Poulter 269 Victoria GC
2010 Staurt Appleby 274 Victoria GC
2009 Tiger Woods 274 Kingston Heath
2008 Rod Pampling * 274 Huntingdale
2007 Aaron Baddeley * 276 Huntingdale
2006 Justin Rose 275 Huntingdale
2005 Robert Allenby * 271 Huntingdale
2004 Richard Green 271 Huntingdale
2003 Robert Allenby 277 Huntingdale
2002 Peter Lonard 279 Huntingdale
2001 Colin Montgomerie 278 Huntingdale
2000 Michael Campbell 282 Huntingdale
1999 Craig Spence 276 Huntingdale
1998Bradley Hughes 268 Huntingdale
1997 Peter Lonard 276 Huntingdale
1996 Craig Parry 279 Huntingdale
1995 Peter Senior 280 Huntingdale
1994 Craig Parry 282 Huntingdale
1993 Bradley Hughes 281 Huntingdale
1992 Craig Parry 283 Huntingdale
1991 Peter Senior 278 Huntingdale
1990 Greg Norman 273 Huntingdale
1989 Greg Norman 280 Huntingdale
1988 Ian Baker-Finch * 283 Huntingdale
1987 Greg Norman 273 Huntingdale
1986 M O'Meara 284 Huntingdale
1985 B Langer 281 Huntingdale
1984 Greg Norman 285 Huntingdale
1983 Greg Norman 285 Huntingdale
1982 Graham Marsh 289 Huntingdale
1981 Greg Norman 289 Huntingdale
1980 G Littler * 288 Huntingdale
1979 Barry Vivian 289 Huntingdale
* Denotes won in play-off