Sizzling weather brings some hot scoring at Championship Final

Saturday, 26 November 2011

The 20th Holden Scramble Championship Final has got off to an absolute flyer with numerous teams making their presence felt early on, in absolutely stunning conditions today at Twin Waters Golf Club.

HSCF - Round 1 Intext

Robina Woods Golf Club are leading the charge with an impressive first score of 51.7, just ahead of Logan City Golf Club who are nipping at their heels less than a shot off the pace.

Teams got underway in pristine conditions this morning on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast and teams made the most of it, shooting some very impressive scores. Canowindra Golf Club isn’t far away either after posting an opening score of 54.3, less than two shots off the leaders.

Other exceptional performances of the day include Mandurah Golf Club who had the equal best gross of the day with an outstanding round of 14 under off the stick and will be a serious contender if that form continues for the rest of the tournament.

Experience in the hot and humid conditions has seemed to prove vital in these early stages with another Queensland team rounding out the top 5. Laidley Golf Club shot a great first round score of 54.3, just three shots of the leaders.

In the Women’s Holden Scramble Championship Final, Cromer Golf Club, lead by Head Professional Nick Robb, have bolted from the gates to shoot the lights out, posting a first round score of 53. Unfortunately, the Championship Final is a marathon not a sprint, so they will be have to keep up their good form to hold off Mcleod Golf Club and Box Hill Golf Club who shot 57.3 and 59.9 respectively.

Teams had to battle the heat as well as a few hangovers today, after teams enjoyed the festivities of Friday night’s Welcome Dinner ‘under the stars’ at Twin Waters Golf Club.

Good conditions and more low scores are forecasted for tomorrow as teams all try to make the cut where the top half will be joined by a PGA Tour Professional. This year boasts a stellar line up, featuring names such as John Senden, Stuart Appleby, Peter O’Malley and Wayne Grady.