Queensland Golf Industry Awards

The 2017 Queensland Golf Industry Awards Night and PGA Trainee Graduation has been confirmed for Tuesday 21st March 2017 at Jupiters Gold Coast.

To make nominations for any award category, please see below.

Purchase Tickets

Event Details
Date Tuesday, 21st March 2017
Venue Jupiters Gold Coast
Dress Code Evening Wear (Jacket & Tie)
Time 6:30pm Pre-Dinner drinks
7pm Awards Ceremony
Ticket pricing
Individual $130 (partner cost $120)
Table of 10 $1200

Jupiters Gold Coast are offering guests a special rate of $239 per room per night for Single/ Double/ Twin. Contact reservations on 07 5592 8130 and quote "QLD Golf Industry Awards Dinner".


PGA of Australia - Queensland Division

Recognition of industry leaders for Queensland golf awards

The Queensland Golf Industry is pleased to announce the finalists for their upcoming Awards Night incorporating the PGA Trainee graduation to be held at Jupiters Gold Coast on Tuesday 21st March 2017. Represented by the PGA (QLD/NT Division), Golf Queensland, Golf Course Superintendants Association of QLD and Golf Managers Association, the QLD Golf Industry Awards Nights acknowledges the achievements the finalists have accomplished throughout 2016.

With a large number of nominations received for each award it was encouraging to see so many individuals recognised for their tireless efforts in assisting the growth and development of golf within the state of Queensland. Having all areas of the industry being represented by the governing bodies, the night is truly an evening that is dedicated to personalities that are involved in the game whether it be playing or teaching the game, managing the facilities that allow it to be experienced or those that volunteer their time and instill so much of their passion toward assisting where needed.

The finalists for their respective awards are:

Club Professional of the Year Award

  • Adam Norlander              - Headland Golf Club
  • Chris Graham                   - Ocean Shores Golf & Country Club
  • Jared Love                        - Windaroo Lakes Golf Club
  • Joe Janison                       - Brisbane Golf Club
  • John Victorsen Jnr           - Wantima Golf & Country Club
  • Matt King                          - Wynnum Golf Club
  • Paul Orchard                    - Surfers Paradise Golf Club
  • Tim Porter                         - Victoria Park Golf Complex

Teaching Professional of the Year Award

  • Brett Maxwell                 - Virginia Golf Club
  • Darren Weatherall         - Golf Central
  • In Jun (Chris) Lee           - ANK Golf
  • Jay Simpson                    - First Swing
  • Joel Mercieca                  - KDV Sport
  • John Collins                     - Brookwater Golf Club
  • Josh Smith                       - Emerald Lakes Golf Learning Centre
  • Richard Woodhouse      - KDV Sport
  • Sean Dwyer                     - Victoria Park Golf Complex
  • Tom Berndt                      - Hills International

PGA Manager of the Year

  • Declan McCollam          - Paradise Palms
  • Darren Richards             - Ipswich Golf Club
  • Stephen Hutchison        - Twin Waters Golf Club

PGA Coach of the Year

  • Ken Berndt                      - Hills International
  • Richard Woodhouse     - KDV Sport
  • Jim Barden                      - Victoria Park Golf Complex
  • Colin Swatton
  • Ben Cronk                       - Chinderah Golf Club
  • Grant Field                      - Grant Field Golf
  • Ian Triggs                        - Triggs Lynch Golf

Community Leadership Award

  • Grant Harriman
  • Steven Jeffress
  • Paul Hayden
  • David Hughes

Trainee of the Year Award

  • Jacki Marshall
  • Kylie Close
  • Paul Griffiths
  • Jacob Boyce
  • William White   

Tournament of the Year Award

  • Southport Pro-Am
  • Cairns Classic – Paradise Palms
  • City of Brisbane Pro-Am – Victoria Park
  • Morobe Open
  • Wynnum Pro Am

Metropolitan Tournament of the Year Award

  • Southport Pro Am
  • Maroochy River Pro Am
  • Virginia Pro Am
  • City of Brisbane Pro Am – Victoria Park
  • Wynnum Pro Am

Regional Tournament of the Year Award

  • Cairns Classic – Paradise Palms
  • Murwillumbah Pro Am
  • Rockhampton Pro-Am
  • Lismore Pro-Am
  • Yamba Pro-Am

Legends Pro-Am of the Year Award

  • Australian Legends Tour Championship – Byron Bay
  • Sunshine Coast Masters
  • Brisbane Legends Pro-Am
  • Royal Queensland Legends Pro-Am